Easter Chick

Hello!

I just finished this little guy (who I’ve named Chucky) and thought I’d share him with you.


chick 1

He’s a free pattern from the blog Grietjekarweitje and was designed by Grietje Karweitje. I found him as he was mentioned in Issue 1 of Simply Crochet magazine and was just too cute! The pattern is in Dutch, and I don’t know a single word of Dutch, but between Google Translate and some knowledge of amigurumi construction I managed to get something that looked about right.

chick 2

Chucky is made from Sirdar Snuggly Pearls DK in white for the shell, King Cole Pricewise DK in the “Acid” colourway for the body, and Pricewise again in the “Inca” colourway for the beak. He is worked on a 3mm hook for both the shell and body and a 2mm hook for the beak. The original pattern calls for a felt beak, but I don’t have any, so I improvised a crochet beak. The only two problems I had were the white I used for the shell working to a different tension so it looks a little large, and not having an orange pipe cleaner so for the moment he has no legs!

Thanks for reading and Happy Crafting!

Links for this post:

Grietjekarwietje where the pattern is available

Grietje Karweitje’s other designs on Ravelry

Leave a Reply

