Knitting and Crochet Blog Week IV Day 6 – A tool to covet

Hello again!

I’ve managed to blog for 6 days in a row! *party* Today’s topic:

Write about your favourite knitting or crochet (or spinning, etc) tool. It can either be a tool directly involved in your craft (knitting needles or crochet hook) or something that makes your craft more pleasurable – be it a special lamp, or stitch markers.

Being the bee that I am, I have decided to look at one tool for knitting and one for crochet as I couldn’t decide between them, so without further ado, let’s begin!

Favourite Knitting Tool:

DSCN0880

I’ve mentioned it before, but my favourite tools hands down are my Knit Pro interchangeables, especially the Symphonie range which have wooden tips. Not only are they pretty colours, they have lovely joins and cables that don’t have too much memory. I love the sharp points on my wooden needles, and I also like the Nova range which are metal, although they can be a little slippery for my taste when I’m working with a high natural fibre yarn. I also have some of the acrylic tips but I rarely use those as they are a pain with acrylic yarn. If you were interested in trying these, I can highly recommend the Comby Sampler Set, which comes with one pair of each tip type, as well as a couple of cables.

Favourite Crochet Tool:

DSCN0881

I love my Clover Soft Touch hook! I find the design very comfortable to work with, and appreciate the ergonomic handle for longer crochet sessions. These are not cheap, but I think that they are worth the price, at least in the sizes that you use most often, which in my case is 2mm, 3mm and 4mm. If, like me, you tend towards crochet endurance events then I think these are definitely worth a look.

Bonus – Favourite Fun Notions:

DSCN0882

These are some of my favourite notions, and I find them really useful. The bear is an Addi Needle Hugger, which comes as a set of 8 in 4 sizes and is great for keeping circular needles or sets of DPN’s together. The little cup is an awesome claw stitch marker which I picked up from Beaded-Allsorts on eBay as part of a pack of 3 for a very reasonable price, and I really find it indispensable, especially for amigurumi.

I hope you enjoyed this overview of my favourite tools, thanks for reading!

14 thoughts on “Knitting and Crochet Blog Week IV Day 6 – A tool to covet

  1. My crochet-mad friend also raves about the Clover hooks. I think that although they are expensive, it is an investment really as you will spend so many hours using them and making fab stuff with them!

Leave a Reply

