The February Challenge!

Hello all!

As I mentioned in my last post, I am going to be working on a knitting challenge in the month of February. However, instead of doing a solo challenge as I was originally planning, I have teamed up with my fiancé thebarnet over at vox-tower.com to present a joint challenge.

From my perspective, the challenge is to complete the Die Eerste shawl pattern (on Ravelry here) in one month. This is my first shawl pattern, my first time working on something lacey and my first time using 4 ply yarn, so I’m hoping that it will really stretch me as a knitter and that I will learn a lot. I will talk about the shawl a lot more when I post my first progress update (which will probably be on Sunday) but suffice it to say, it is completely stunning and I am in love with it. For now though, here are the competition rules:

The Rules For the February Challenge

  1. These rules must be posted to each participants blog before the challenge commences

  2. The Challenge runs From February 1st 2013 to February 28th 2013

  3. Each person must produce a minimum of two blog posts per week providing progress updates

  4. The projects must be worked on at the same time unless by prior arrangement

  5. Victory conditions:

  • Projects must be completed by midnight GMT on February 28th 2013

  • thebarnet must build and paint the new Flames of War starter set (excluding the V1 flying bomb)
  • YarnRush must complete the “Die Eerste” shawl such that almost all of the purchased yarn has been used up
  • If both projects are not completed by the deadline, the challenge is considered a tie

The Prizes

  • A Grande drink and cake of choice from Starbucks
  • thebarnet – £10 of World Of Tanks Gold
  • YarnRush – A £10 gift voucher for Yarn
  • And, of course, eternal bragging rights

Let the challenge commence!

Are you taking part in a challenge this month? Let me know in the comments, I’d love to hear about it!